Publisher: Entangled Teen


May 09
Bite-Sized Reviews of Hiding Lies, A Quiet Kind of Thunder, Alex Approximately & The Lost Path

Bite-Sized Reviews of Hiding Lies, A Quiet Kind of Thunder, Alex Approximately & The Lost Path

Reviews 42 ★★★½

I’ve got four bite-sized reviews for you today: three YA’s and a graphic novel! I hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! In this second installment of the Eleanor Ames YA spy thriller series, Ellie is trying to make up for her con artist past and her mistakes in the first book, especially putting the wrong person in prison (well, sort of) and hiding things from her boyfriend (though he hid more than a few things himself). Of course, it’s not that simple. Ellie ends up embroiled in another FBI investigation, and this time she’s determined to get it right. I’ll confess that I felt like the first half of the book was a teensy bit slow—or, actually, lots of things were happening, but I just wasn’t emotionally invested in the plot. At about 65% a major wrench is thrown into everything, and that’s where… Read more »


Feb 08
By a Charm and a Curse by Jaime Questell: Review, Giveaway & Questell’s Top Ten Addictions

By a Charm and a Curse by Jaime Questell: Review, Giveaway & Questell’s Top Ten Addictions

Author Top Ten Lists, Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 20 ★★★★

Buy Links: Who doesn’t love a book about a magical circus? A circus with both a charm and a curse? Sign me up! What Fed My Addiction: The circus atmosphere. I don’t know what it is about a traveling circus or carnival, but I just love this setting. There’s already such a sense of awe and wonder there that it works really well for a fantastical story. Plus, they’re a little creepy (I think I always think back to Something Wicked This Way Comes), which works well for this story. Emmaline’s curse. The curse itself is, again, creepy in all the best ways. Emmaline is turned into something along the lines of a living puppet. She’s solid, her senses are dulled, and she’s suddenly living a sort of shadow life. There was a lot to play with here, and Questell does it well. You couldn’t help but feel sorry for Emmaline as… Read more »


Dec 15
Island of Exiles and Sea of Strangers by Erica Cameron: Review & Giveaway

Island of Exiles and Sea of Strangers by Erica Cameron: Review & Giveaway

Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 4

Today I’m featuring the first two books in Erica Cameron’s Ryogan Chronicles, a fantasy adventure series that pushes the envelope in many ways. This first book in the series throws us into a strange and deadly desert world where every day is a fight for survival.  What Fed My Addiction: Utterly unique. I’ve never read anything like this series, and the world that Cameron has created is beyond anything I could possibly imagine. Like, seriously, how does she come up with all of it? It’s unmistakably brilliant. Diversity. Traditional gender roles are simply not a thing in this book. In fact, the society in the fantasy world features three completely accepted genders. In addition to that, sexuality and romantic relationships seem to be relatively fluid for the people in this society as well (and some people are asexual). This is all accepted without comment, which I loved. Family bonds. The society… Read more »


Oct 26
Seize Today by Pintip Dunn: Review & Giveaway

Seize Today by Pintip Dunn: Review & Giveaway

Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 6 ★★★★½

***NOTE: Seize Today is the third book in the Forget Tomorrow Trilogy (the first book was a NYT Bestselling and RITA™ Award-winning book). This book doesn’t really contain anything but minor spoilers for the first two books in the series. Click to read my reviews of Forget Tomorrow and Remember Yesterday.*** The books in this trilogy just got progressively better and better! I really enjoyed the first book, but I had some qualms that held me back from loving it. Then the second book came along, and I couldn’t think of much to say in the negatives section of my review. I’m fairly certain that this book was my favorite of the three (maybe it’s just because it’s fresher than book 2, though?) I loved it, and Dunn even managed to get me to ignore a trope that typically bugs the heck out of me… What Fed My Addiction: Possible futures. Olivia can’t really see the… Read more »


Jun 05
Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott: Review, Giveaway & Scott’s Top 5 Writing Snack Attack Addictions

Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott: Review, Giveaway & Scott’s Top 5 Writing Snack Attack Addictions

Author Top Ten Lists, Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 26 ★★★★

Okay, here’s the deal: This book is seriously messed up! It kind of reminds me of a train wreck you can’t look away from—not because it’s bad, by any means, but because the characters and the situation are so incredibly, intensely broken and dark. What Fed My Addiction: Surreal contemporary? The book is interesting because I was never quite sure what I was reading. I assumed from the beginning that it was sort of a dark fantasy/paranormal story, but after a while I determined there weren’t really any fantastical or paranormal elements, with the possible exception of Wilson—who I couldn’t quite figure out. Yet, the book didn’t read like a contemporary exactly either. The story involves human trafficking, but the “houses” with their systems of pay and the way you would reach the next house—it all felt incredibly surreal, like a contemporary on crack or something. And I couldn’t tell if… Read more »


Mar 22
Bite-Sized Reviews of Waking in Time, Redux, Confessions of a High School Disaster, Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Mutant Mantis Lunch Ladies

Bite-Sized Reviews of Waking in Time, Redux, Confessions of a High School Disaster, Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Mutant Mantis Lunch Ladies

Reviews 19

I’ve gotten a lot of new books for review lately, and I’ve decided to do bite-sized reviews of some of them, so I don’t have to post every single day of the week for forever. Hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! I’m a huge fan of time-travel stories, so when the author offered this one up for review (at an event I attended) I had to snatch it up! I’m glad I did because it turned out to be a great read! The story follows Abbi, who wakes up one morning and it’s suddenly 1983. Everyone seems to know her, but she doesn’t know anyone … or know how or why she’s traveled. This would be bad enough, but she keeps heading backward further and further—she’s never sure how long she’ll be in one place or why she’s ended up in the times she does…. Read more »


Nov 25
Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Reviews 8 ★★★★

Lots of reviews being posted today. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby Published by Balzer & Bray on 10/25/16 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Suspense Pages: 288 Source: Edelweiss My content rating: YA (Physical abuse shown, sexual abuse referenced but not described) My rating: The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance. When Nico Walker’s older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah’s daily cruelties. Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found. But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She’s thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden… Read more »


Oct 12
Bite-Sized Reviews: Gemina and Our Chemical Hearts

Bite-Sized Reviews: Gemina and Our Chemical Hearts

Reviews 12 ★★★★★

Once again, there are so many releases this time of year that I’m resorting to bite-sized reviews for some of them. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman Series: The Illuminae Files #2 Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on 10/18/16 Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction Pages: 608 Source: BEA My content rating: YA (Violence, Drug use, Swears are “censored”) My rating: The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Timesbestseller that critics are calling “out-of-this-world awesome.”   Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed. The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault. Hanna is the station captain’s pampered… Read more »


Oct 07
Remember Yesterday by Pintip Dunn – Review & Giveaway

Remember Yesterday by Pintip Dunn – Review & Giveaway

Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 6 ★★★★½

***NOTE: Remember Yesterday is the sequel to the NYT Bestselling and RITA™ Award-winning book, Forget Tomorrow. This review may contain spoilers for the first book in the series. If you haven’t read book one, click the link to read my review of Forget Tomorrow to read about why I loved the first book and then scroll down to the bottom of this post to enter for a chance to win an annotated copy!!!*** Remember Yesterday picks up ten years after Forget Tomorrow left off and is told from Jessa’s POV. Jessa is now about the age that Callie had been when she sacrificed herself for her sister, and she’s trying to live up to that and make her life worth the sacrifice. Logan hasn’t been able to move on with his life since Callie died, either, and it seems that many of the characters in the book are living in the past… Read more »


Sep 26
Chasing Truth by Julie Cross – Review, Giveaway & Cross’s Top Ten Addictions

Chasing Truth by Julie Cross – Review, Giveaway & Cross’s Top Ten Addictions

Author Top Ten Lists, Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 14 ★★★★

Chasing Truth is a YA mystery filled with super spies, intrigue, romance and a touch of teen angst. The combination makes for a fabulous read! The book follows Ellie, a teenage girl who has left her con artist family and is now living with her sister, Harper and Harper’s secret service boyfriend. Ellie’s left her grifter life behind, but when her best friend Simon commits suicide, she can’t let things go. She needs to figure out what happened that night, why he was pushed so far—or if it was truly a suicide at all. Turns out, Ellie’s con artist skills are perfect to help her get close to people who might have more information than they’ve let on. Of course, the closer she gets to the truth, the more dangerous the search becomes.  What Fed My Addiction: Ellie’s backstory. One of my favorite aspects of the book was learning about Ellie’s past…. Read more »