Publisher: Entangled Teen


Oct 26
Seize Today by Pintip Dunn: Review & Giveaway

Seize Today by Pintip Dunn: Review & Giveaway

Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 6 ★★★★½

***NOTE: Seize Today is the third book in the Forget Tomorrow Trilogy (the first book was a NYT Bestselling and RITA™ Award-winning book). This book doesn’t really contain anything but minor spoilers for the first two books in the series. Click to read my reviews of Forget Tomorrow and Remember Yesterday.*** The books in this trilogy just got progressively better and better! I really enjoyed the first book, but I had some qualms that held me back from loving it. Then the second book came along, and I couldn’t think of much to say in the negatives section of my review. I’m fairly certain that this book was my favorite of the three (maybe it’s just because it’s fresher than book 2, though?) I loved it, and Dunn even managed to get me to ignore a trope that typically bugs the heck out of me… What Fed My Addiction: Possible futures. Olivia can’t really see the… Read more »


Jun 05
Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott: Review, Giveaway & Scott’s Top 5 Writing Snack Attack Addictions

Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott: Review, Giveaway & Scott’s Top 5 Writing Snack Attack Addictions

Author Top Ten Lists, Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 26 ★★★★

Okay, here’s the deal: This book is seriously messed up! It kind of reminds me of a train wreck you can’t look away from—not because it’s bad, by any means, but because the characters and the situation are so incredibly, intensely broken and dark. What Fed My Addiction: Surreal contemporary? The book is interesting because I was never quite sure what I was reading. I assumed from the beginning that it was sort of a dark fantasy/paranormal story, but after a while I determined there weren’t really any fantastical or paranormal elements, with the possible exception of Wilson—who I couldn’t quite figure out. Yet, the book didn’t read like a contemporary exactly either. The story involves human trafficking, but the “houses” with their systems of pay and the way you would reach the next house—it all felt incredibly surreal, like a contemporary on crack or something. And I couldn’t tell if… Read more »


Mar 22
Bite-Sized Reviews of Waking in Time, Redux, Confessions of a High School Disaster, Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Mutant Mantis Lunch Ladies

Bite-Sized Reviews of Waking in Time, Redux, Confessions of a High School Disaster, Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Mutant Mantis Lunch Ladies

Reviews 19

I’ve gotten a lot of new books for review lately, and I’ve decided to do bite-sized reviews of some of them, so I don’t have to post every single day of the week for forever. Hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! I’m a huge fan of time-travel stories, so when the author offered this one up for review (at an event I attended) I had to snatch it up! I’m glad I did because it turned out to be a great read! The story follows Abbi, who wakes up one morning and it’s suddenly 1983. Everyone seems to know her, but she doesn’t know anyone … or know how or why she’s traveled. This would be bad enough, but she keeps heading backward further and further—she’s never sure how long she’ll be in one place or why she’s ended up in the times she does…. Read more »


Nov 25
Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Reviews 8 ★★★★

Lots of reviews being posted today. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby Published by Balzer & Bray on 10/25/16 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Suspense Pages: 288 Source: Edelweiss My content rating: YA (Physical abuse shown, sexual abuse referenced but not described) My rating: The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance. When Nico Walker’s older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah’s daily cruelties. Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found. But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She’s thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden… Read more »


Oct 12
Bite-Sized Reviews: Gemina and Our Chemical Hearts

Bite-Sized Reviews: Gemina and Our Chemical Hearts

Reviews 12 ★★★★★

Once again, there are so many releases this time of year that I’m resorting to bite-sized reviews for some of them. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman Series: The Illuminae Files #2 Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on 10/18/16 Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction Pages: 608 Source: BEA My content rating: YA (Violence, Drug use, Swears are “censored”) My rating: The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Timesbestseller that critics are calling “out-of-this-world awesome.”   Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed. The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault. Hanna is the station captain’s pampered… Read more »


Oct 07
Remember Yesterday by Pintip Dunn – Review & Giveaway

Remember Yesterday by Pintip Dunn – Review & Giveaway

Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 6 ★★★★½

***NOTE: Remember Yesterday is the sequel to the NYT Bestselling and RITA™ Award-winning book, Forget Tomorrow. This review may contain spoilers for the first book in the series. If you haven’t read book one, click the link to read my review of Forget Tomorrow to read about why I loved the first book and then scroll down to the bottom of this post to enter for a chance to win an annotated copy!!!*** Remember Yesterday picks up ten years after Forget Tomorrow left off and is told from Jessa’s POV. Jessa is now about the age that Callie had been when she sacrificed herself for her sister, and she’s trying to live up to that and make her life worth the sacrifice. Logan hasn’t been able to move on with his life since Callie died, either, and it seems that many of the characters in the book are living in the past… Read more »


Sep 26
Chasing Truth by Julie Cross – Review, Giveaway & Cross’s Top Ten Addictions

Chasing Truth by Julie Cross – Review, Giveaway & Cross’s Top Ten Addictions

Author Top Ten Lists, Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 14 ★★★★

Chasing Truth is a YA mystery filled with super spies, intrigue, romance and a touch of teen angst. The combination makes for a fabulous read! The book follows Ellie, a teenage girl who has left her con artist family and is now living with her sister, Harper and Harper’s secret service boyfriend. Ellie’s left her grifter life behind, but when her best friend Simon commits suicide, she can’t let things go. She needs to figure out what happened that night, why he was pushed so far—or if it was truly a suicide at all. Turns out, Ellie’s con artist skills are perfect to help her get close to people who might have more information than they’ve let on. Of course, the closer she gets to the truth, the more dangerous the search becomes.  What Fed My Addiction: Ellie’s backstory. One of my favorite aspects of the book was learning about Ellie’s past…. Read more »


Jun 03
Out of Play by Nyrae Dawn and Jolene Perry – Review, Interview & Authors’ Top Ten Addictions

Out of Play by Nyrae Dawn and Jolene Perry – Review, Interview & Authors’ Top Ten Addictions

Author Interview, Author Top Ten Lists, Reviews 3 ★★★★

Out of Play is the sort of book that deals with tough issues really well but doesn’t completely mangle your heart in the process. Not that I’m not a fan of the occasional heart-mangling (you know I love a good cry now and then), but I think it’s great to have books that tackle these types of issues in a somewhat lighter, more accessible manner as well. A book that gives you the feels, but doesn’t tear you to shreds in the process. This is that book. NOTE: Okay, so I’m just now realizing the irony here (I’m slow on the uptake, what can I say?) – my blog name and the heading for the following section and even my author top ten lists all mention addiction – in a fun and lighthearted way – because of my blog name. But, of course, as fun as it is to say that I have… Read more »


Apr 04
Bite-Sized Reviews – Romancing the Nerd, Tuck Everlasting, Island of the Blue Dolphins

Bite-Sized Reviews – Romancing the Nerd, Tuck Everlasting, Island of the Blue Dolphins

Reviews 12 ★★★½

A few quick reviews of some books that deserve attention. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! Romancing the Nerd by Leah Rae Miller Series: Nerd #2 Published by Entangled Teen on 4/5/16 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance Pages: 352 Source: NetGalley My content rating: YA (Nothing more than kissing) My rating: Dan Garrett has become exactly what he hates—popular. Until recently, he was just another live-action role-playing (LARP) geek on the lowest run of the social ladder. Cue a massive growth spurt and an uncanny skill at taking three-point shots in basketball and voila…Mr. Popular. It’s definitely weird. And the biggest drawback? Going from high school zero to basketball hero cost Dan the secret girl-of-his-dorky dreams. A tuba-playing nerd with an eclectic fashion sense, Zelda Potts’s “Coolness” stat is about minus forty-two. Dan turning his back on her and the rest of nerd-dom was brutal enough, but when he humiliates her at… Read more »


Feb 24
Bite-Sized Reviews – Their Fractured Light, The Distance Between Us, The Summer I Became a Nerd

Bite-Sized Reviews – Their Fractured Light, The Distance Between Us, The Summer I Became a Nerd

Reviews 30 ★★★★½

I wanted to write quick reviews of these books since they’ve been out for quite some time, but they deserve some more attention! Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! The last two books counted toward my Shelf Love Challenge! Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman, Meagan Spooner Series: Starbound #3 Also in this series: These Broken Stars, This Shattered World Published by Disney-Hyperion on 12/1/15 Genres: Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult Pages: 425 Source: Purchased My content rating: YA (Characters have sex, but it’s not shown; Some violence) My rating: A year ago, Flynn Cormac and Jubilee Chase made the now infamous Avon Broadcast, calling on the galaxy to witness for their planet, and protect them from destruction. Some say Flynn’s a madman, others whisper about conspiracies. Nobody knows the truth. A year before that, Tarver Merendsen and Lilac LaRoux were rescued from a terrible shipwreck—now, they live a public life… Read more »