Genre: Science Fiction


Oct 02
Invictus by Ryan Graudin: Review & Giveaway (Plus My Invictus Haiku)

Invictus by Ryan Graudin: Review & Giveaway (Plus My Invictus Haiku)

Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 26 ★★★★

I have adored every one of Ryan Graudin’s books, so when I saw that she had a new one coming out the choice of whether or not to pick it up for review was a no-brainer. All of Graudin’s books are so completely different that I never know what to expect with her. This newest book is a time-traveling sci-fi adventure! What Fed My Addiction: Time-traveling adventures. This book handles time travel incredibly well. It doesn’t gloss over the science of how it would work, but it doesn’t go into overwhelming detail either. Plus, there are exciting trips to historical events like the sinking of the Titanic! (And I kind of loved Graudin’s explanation of how stealing from the past makes sense—under very specific circumstances.) Add to that all of the complexities of the characters having to make sure they don’t change history and you get some pretty intense time-traveling! No… Read more »


Sep 04
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams: A Storyboard Review

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams: A Storyboard Review

All-Time Favorites, Reviews 26 DNF

This book was one of my first all-time favorites. I read it in high school, and Douglas Adams’ sense of ironic wit called to me. I read every book in the series (and all of the Dirk Gently series as well) and savored each and every one. But, for some reason, I haven’t picked up the series in my adult years. I think I was afraid it wouldn’t live up to my memories. When the SYNC audiobook program offered this one up this summer, I decided I needed to give an old favorite another try, and the audiobook felt like a great way to revisit it. I didn’t end up downloading it from SYNC (just because I didn’t want to take up space on my phone), but it inspired me to put the audio on hold at my library. The book is pretty much exactly what I remembered it to… Read more »


Jul 31
Wandering Star by Romina Russell: A Rereadathon Review & Giveaway!

Wandering Star by Romina Russell: A Rereadathon Review & Giveaway!

Coyer, Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 14 ★★★★

It’s been a long time since I read the first book in this series (I probably should have actually participated in the rereadathon of the first book, but I just didn’t have time), so it took me a little bit of time to remember what was happening, but once I got myself warmed up, I found that I was enthralled with the worlds of the Zodiac once again! This second book picked up right where the first left off—after the destruction of Cancer, Rho and her brother are refugees of sorts on Capricorn. She’s overwhelmed with guilt over Mathias’s and her father’s deaths (not to mention many other citizens of Cancer) and she’s pretty much given up on being a leader. Of course, she might not get to choose whether or not to lead. What Fed My Addiction: The Zodiac worlds. I just love the concept of the worlds of Zodiac… Read more »


Jul 19
Bite-Sized Reviews: Crash Land on Kurai, The Star-Touched Queen and Death’s Queen

Bite-Sized Reviews: Crash Land on Kurai, The Star-Touched Queen and Death’s Queen

Coyer, Reviews 24

I’ve got three bite-sized reviews today—one for a book I loved and two for disappointing reads. I hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! This book is a spin-off of Pajonas’s Nojiku Series, but you don’t have to read that first series to appreciate it. In fact, I have to confess that I’m horrible with remembering details of books I read long ago and I was struggling to remember all the connections between this book and the original series—but it didn’t matter one little bit because I still loved this one (actually a bit more than I loved the original series, I think). Right away, I connected with the main character. Yumi is smart, tough and more than a little flawed (especially when it comes to being somewhat hotheaded and impulsive). She’s used to digging for the truth, not necessarily getting down and dirty in… Read more »


Jun 15
Bite-Sized Reviews (and a Giveaway!):  Eliza and Her Monsters, If I Fix You, The Gauntlet, Goodbye Days, and The Sun Is Also a Star

Bite-Sized Reviews (and a Giveaway!): Eliza and Her Monsters, If I Fix You, The Gauntlet, Goodbye Days, and The Sun Is Also a Star

Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 34

Today I’ve got bite-sized reviews of a few of my recent reads. There’s also a giveaway at the end of the post, so make sure you check it out. I hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! This book was adorable and made me want to read fanfiction. I loved the story behind this one—Eliza has created a webcomic that went viral. She now has over a million fans, but no one knows who she is. When a new boy named Wallace starts at her school, she discovers that he’s a MEGA-fan. He’s even writing fanfiction for her creation. But he has no idea that she’s the face behind the comic. And the closer the two get to each other, the harder it is for Eliza to tell him the truth. Of course, this does not end well (surprise, surprise). There were a few things… Read more »


Apr 19
Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray: 5 Soaring Stars

Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray: 5 Soaring Stars

All-Time Favorites, Reviews 34 ★★★★★

Defy the Stars is sci-fi at its very best—it’s exhilarating!  What Fed My Addiction: Complex characters you’ll love! Noemi is the type of person you can’t help but root for. She’s a bit of an underdog—doomed from the start of the book to die, she’s accepted her fate. After all, she doesn’t feel like her life is worth much anyway. Her story is sad but compelling, and the first person to truly convince her of her intrinsic value is an android (with a soul, of course). Speaking of that android, Abel is fantastically complex. As the book progresses he realizes that he just might be “broken.” After all, he has thoughts and feelings outside of his programming. Ironically, Abel is one of the funniest characters in the book—his sarcasm and his sometimes misguided understanding of human emotions make him a fascinating character. I loved every minute of him! Action, pacing and worldbuilding. This… Read more »


Mar 22
Bite-Sized Reviews of Waking in Time, Redux, Confessions of a High School Disaster, Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Mutant Mantis Lunch Ladies

Bite-Sized Reviews of Waking in Time, Redux, Confessions of a High School Disaster, Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Mutant Mantis Lunch Ladies

Reviews 19

I’ve gotten a lot of new books for review lately, and I’ve decided to do bite-sized reviews of some of them, so I don’t have to post every single day of the week for forever. Hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! I’m a huge fan of time-travel stories, so when the author offered this one up for review (at an event I attended) I had to snatch it up! I’m glad I did because it turned out to be a great read! The story follows Abbi, who wakes up one morning and it’s suddenly 1983. Everyone seems to know her, but she doesn’t know anyone … or know how or why she’s traveled. This would be bad enough, but she keeps heading backward further and further—she’s never sure how long she’ll be in one place or why she’s ended up in the times she does…. Read more »


Feb 27
I Finished Two Series! Bite-Sized Reviews of Silver Shadows & The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead and MILA 2.0: Redemption by Debra Driza

I Finished Two Series! Bite-Sized Reviews of Silver Shadows & The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead and MILA 2.0: Redemption by Debra Driza

Reviews 11

Look at me!! I managed to finish not one but two series that I was behind on! This has to be some sort of record for me!! I know the rest of the world read these long ago, but I figure all three of these books deserve at least a bite-sized review. I hope these bite-sized reviews will give you enough of a taste to feed your fiction addiction! I know I truly love this series because it’s been three years since I read The Fiery Heart, and it didn’t take me any time at all to remember what was going on or to reconnect with my favorite characters. That’s honestly saying a lot because lately my brain is a sieve and I’m lucky if I can remember what went on in a previous book in a series for a few months, much less three years! This book picks up with… Read more »


Nov 25
Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Reviews 8 ★★★★

Lots of reviews being posted today. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby Published by Balzer & Bray on 10/25/16 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Suspense Pages: 288 Source: Edelweiss My content rating: YA (Physical abuse shown, sexual abuse referenced but not described) My rating: The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance. When Nico Walker’s older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah’s daily cruelties. Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found. But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She’s thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden… Read more »


Nov 22
Scythe Review: AKA An Ode to Neal Shusterman

Scythe Review: AKA An Ode to Neal Shusterman

Reviews 26 ★★★★★

How has the entire world not recognized Neal Shusterman’s genius? Seriously, I am SO hoping that the Unwind movie comes out (I haven’t seen any news since May!!) and that it does the series justice because people need to talk about his books more. Scythe is one more example of Shusterman’s talent and imagination and his ability to shed light on humanity’s moral triumphs and shortcomings. Once again, he takes a look at a dystopian (utopian?) society—this time a society where humans have defeated death, pain, poverty, and every other earthly malady. The cloud has advanced into what the world terms the “Thunderhead.” It has amassed so much knowledge that it has been able to solve all of the world’s problems. All except one—with the defeat of death, overpopulation is a major issue. Even the Thunderhead can only figure out ways to support so many people. And up till this… Read more »