Genre: Science Fiction


Jul 19
Bite-Sized Reviews: Crash Land on Kurai, The Star-Touched Queen and Death’s Queen

Bite-Sized Reviews: Crash Land on Kurai, The Star-Touched Queen and Death’s Queen

Coyer, Reviews 24

I’ve got three bite-sized reviews today—one for a book I loved and two for disappointing reads. I hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! This book is a spin-off of Pajonas’s Nojiku Series, but you don’t have to read that first series to appreciate it. In fact, I have to confess that I’m horrible with remembering details of books I read long ago and I was struggling to remember all the connections between this book and the original series—but it didn’t matter one little bit because I still loved this one (actually a bit more than I loved the original series, I think). Right away, I connected with the main character. Yumi is smart, tough and more than a little flawed (especially when it comes to being somewhat hotheaded and impulsive). She’s used to digging for the truth, not necessarily getting down and dirty in… Read more »


Jun 15
Bite-Sized Reviews (and a Giveaway!):  Eliza and Her Monsters, If I Fix You, The Gauntlet, Goodbye Days, and The Sun Is Also a Star

Bite-Sized Reviews (and a Giveaway!): Eliza and Her Monsters, If I Fix You, The Gauntlet, Goodbye Days, and The Sun Is Also a Star

Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 34

Today I’ve got bite-sized reviews of a few of my recent reads. There’s also a giveaway at the end of the post, so make sure you check it out. I hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! This book was adorable and made me want to read fanfiction. I loved the story behind this one—Eliza has created a webcomic that went viral. She now has over a million fans, but no one knows who she is. When a new boy named Wallace starts at her school, she discovers that he’s a MEGA-fan. He’s even writing fanfiction for her creation. But he has no idea that she’s the face behind the comic. And the closer the two get to each other, the harder it is for Eliza to tell him the truth. Of course, this does not end well (surprise, surprise). There were a few things… Read more »


Apr 19
Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray: 5 Soaring Stars

Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray: 5 Soaring Stars

All-Time Favorites, Reviews 34 ★★★★★

Defy the Stars is sci-fi at its very best—it’s exhilarating!  What Fed My Addiction: Complex characters you’ll love! Noemi is the type of person you can’t help but root for. She’s a bit of an underdog—doomed from the start of the book to die, she’s accepted her fate. After all, she doesn’t feel like her life is worth much anyway. Her story is sad but compelling, and the first person to truly convince her of her intrinsic value is an android (with a soul, of course). Speaking of that android, Abel is fantastically complex. As the book progresses he realizes that he just might be “broken.” After all, he has thoughts and feelings outside of his programming. Ironically, Abel is one of the funniest characters in the book—his sarcasm and his sometimes misguided understanding of human emotions make him a fascinating character. I loved every minute of him! Action, pacing and worldbuilding. This… Read more »


Mar 22
Bite-Sized Reviews of Waking in Time, Redux, Confessions of a High School Disaster, Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Mutant Mantis Lunch Ladies

Bite-Sized Reviews of Waking in Time, Redux, Confessions of a High School Disaster, Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Mutant Mantis Lunch Ladies

Reviews 19

I’ve gotten a lot of new books for review lately, and I’ve decided to do bite-sized reviews of some of them, so I don’t have to post every single day of the week for forever. Hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! I’m a huge fan of time-travel stories, so when the author offered this one up for review (at an event I attended) I had to snatch it up! I’m glad I did because it turned out to be a great read! The story follows Abbi, who wakes up one morning and it’s suddenly 1983. Everyone seems to know her, but she doesn’t know anyone … or know how or why she’s traveled. This would be bad enough, but she keeps heading backward further and further—she’s never sure how long she’ll be in one place or why she’s ended up in the times she does…. Read more »


Feb 27
I Finished Two Series! Bite-Sized Reviews of Silver Shadows & The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead and MILA 2.0: Redemption by Debra Driza

I Finished Two Series! Bite-Sized Reviews of Silver Shadows & The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead and MILA 2.0: Redemption by Debra Driza

Reviews 11

Look at me!! I managed to finish not one but two series that I was behind on! This has to be some sort of record for me!! I know the rest of the world read these long ago, but I figure all three of these books deserve at least a bite-sized review. I hope these bite-sized reviews will give you enough of a taste to feed your fiction addiction! I know I truly love this series because it’s been three years since I read The Fiery Heart, and it didn’t take me any time at all to remember what was going on or to reconnect with my favorite characters. That’s honestly saying a lot because lately my brain is a sieve and I’m lucky if I can remember what went on in a previous book in a series for a few months, much less three years! This book picks up with… Read more »


Nov 25
Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Reviews 8 ★★★★

Lots of reviews being posted today. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby Published by Balzer & Bray on 10/25/16 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Suspense Pages: 288 Source: Edelweiss My content rating: YA (Physical abuse shown, sexual abuse referenced but not described) My rating: The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance. When Nico Walker’s older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah’s daily cruelties. Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found. But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She’s thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden… Read more »


Nov 22
Scythe Review: AKA An Ode to Neal Shusterman

Scythe Review: AKA An Ode to Neal Shusterman

Reviews 26 ★★★★★

How has the entire world not recognized Neal Shusterman’s genius? Seriously, I am SO hoping that the Unwind movie comes out (I haven’t seen any news since May!!) and that it does the series justice because people need to talk about his books more. Scythe is one more example of Shusterman’s talent and imagination and his ability to shed light on humanity’s moral triumphs and shortcomings. Once again, he takes a look at a dystopian (utopian?) society—this time a society where humans have defeated death, pain, poverty, and every other earthly malady. The cloud has advanced into what the world terms the “Thunderhead.” It has amassed so much knowledge that it has been able to solve all of the world’s problems. All except one—with the defeat of death, overpopulation is a major issue. Even the Thunderhead can only figure out ways to support so many people. And up till this… Read more »


Nov 08
The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid – Review & Giveaway

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid – Review & Giveaway

Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 12 ★★★★★

My 14-year-old son and I had the pleasure of attending a pre-pub dinner with S.J. Kincaid through Andersons Bookshop and part of the arrangement was that we got ARCs of the book so that we could read it before the dinner. I was super excited because I had missed out on this book at BEA, and I had really wanted to check it out. Turns out, it was everything I’d been hoping for! Both my son and I LOVED the book. He was in awe that he got to meet Kincaid and talk to her about it, and he asked her several pretty thoughtful questions, if I do say so myself. The event was small, which meant that he got to ask her as much as he wanted! Anyway, I’m including a few little details that I learned at the dinner in this review, so I thought I’d mention it… Read more »


Oct 20
Bite-Sized Audiobook Reviews–Momotaro: Xander and the Lost Island of Monsters & Abducted: Escape From Kraile

Bite-Sized Audiobook Reviews–Momotaro: Xander and the Lost Island of Monsters & Abducted: Escape From Kraile

Reviews 4 ★★★★½

These are two audiobooks that I received for review and listened to with my two older kids. It takes us a little while to get through these because I can only listen when the three of us are in the car together (or suffer their wrath), but these were both well worth the wait! Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction!   Xander and the Lost Island of Monsters by Margaret Dilloway Series: Momotaro #1 Published by Dreamscape Media on 4/12/16 Genres: Middle Grade, Fantasy, Fairy Tales, Legends & Mythology Pages: 320   Audio Length: 8 hours and 12 minutes Source: AudioBook Jukebox My content rating: MG (Some MG-level violence, Slight bullying) My rating: Xander Miyamoto would rather do almost anything than listen to his sixth grade teacher, Mr. Stedman, drone on about weather disasters happening around the globe. When spring break begins at last, Xander plans to spend it playing computer games… Read more »


Oct 19
Time Traveling with a Hamster by Ross Welford – Review, Giveaway, & Welford’s Top Ten Addictions

Time Traveling with a Hamster by Ross Welford – Review, Giveaway, & Welford’s Top Ten Addictions

Author Top Ten Lists, Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 16 ★★★★

Despite the cute cover and the whimsical title, this book isn’t simply a frivolous romp through time—it has a surprising amount of heart and even heartbreak. The story tells of Al, who receives a letter from his father four years after his father’s death. The letter reveals that Al can essentially bring his father back to life by traveling back in time and preventing an accident that happened all the way back when his father was twelve years old. Of course, at first Al is skeptical, but he soon discovers that it just might be true. Unfortunately, changing the past isn’t quite as simple as it seems, and Al finds himself questioning whether or not changing the past could destroy his future.  What Fed My Addiction: Life in all its bittersweet glory. There’s a lot going on in Al’s life (pre-time travel), and not all of it is rosy. Obviously, he’s been dealing… Read more »