Month: November 2016

Nov 28
I’m a WINNER!!!

I’m a WINNER!!!

NaNoWriMo 22

  Yes, you heard it right here, folks: I am the champion of the world!!! (Yep, that’s right, the Queen song has been going through my head ever since I hit that little Validate button on the NaNo site.) Okay, so that might be a little bit of an exaggeration, but I am seriously SO excited that I hit my 50,000 word goal today, two days early. AND I have a nearly finished first draft (I might even be able to finish it by the 30th, but if not it will be done very soon after because I am so close). I managed to write at a super steady pace, so that helped me a lot. Take a look at my little graphy thing: See how beautiful and smooth it looks? Um, okay, I’ll stop now. But, seriously, I am downright giddy right now! I did it, I did it, I… Read more »


Nov 27
Sunday Post & Giveaways Galore – 11/27/16

Sunday Post & Giveaways Galore – 11/27/16

Sunday Post 13

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on my blog and share news about what’s coming up in the week ahead. Last week on FYFA (and in my life): The only thing to report this week is that I’m still on track with NaNo. I should finish my 50k in the next couple of days (and then finish the book soon after). We had a nice Thanksgiving—just us (me, my husband, my kids and my mom), but there’s nothing too exciting to report about it. Except … yum! Here’s what you may have missed on the blog last week: Scythe Review: AKA An Ode to Neal Shusterman – Find out why I LOVED this book! Why I’m So Thankful for the Book Blogging Community – Posted as part of #TheThanksUGive Bite-Size… Read more »


Nov 26
November Monthly Wrap-Up Round-Up Link-up

November Monthly Wrap-Up Round-Up Link-up

Monthly Wrap-Up Round-Up 0

It’s time for the November Wrap-Up Round-Up! The October giveaway is being hosted over at Lisa Loves Literature. There are a few more days to enter so make sure you head over there! This is the link-up for our November wrap-up posts. If you don’t already know about the Monthly Wrap-Up Round-Up, read the information below: Every month, at the end of the month, I’ll put up a monthly wrap-up link-up post where everyone can link up their month end posts. There are no specific requirements for what needs to be in your post, as long as you have a book blog and your wrap-up summarizes your month in some way.   Then, one week later, I’ll create a giveaway that encourages people to visit YOUR month end link-ups, giving entries for commenting and/or sharing.   Anyone can participate in the giveaway – you won’t have to actually link up in order… Read more »


Nov 25
Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Reviews 8 ★★★★

Lots of reviews being posted today. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby Published by Balzer & Bray on 10/25/16 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Suspense Pages: 288 Source: Edelweiss My content rating: YA (Physical abuse shown, sexual abuse referenced but not described) My rating: The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance. When Nico Walker’s older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah’s daily cruelties. Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found. But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She’s thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden… Read more »


Nov 23
Why I’m So Thankful for the Book Blogging Community

Why I’m So Thankful for the Book Blogging Community

Let's Discuss 15

I thought I’d participate in The Thanks U Give, which is being hosted by Chasing Faerytales and Stay Bookish. It’s a sort of bookish Thanksgiving celebration, and there are so many bookish things to be thankful for! Make sure you head over to the main post to enter the giveaway, because HarperCollins was generous enough to sponsor! So, here are a list of (some of the) reasons I’m thankful for the Book Blogging Community: You Get Me How often do you find other people who want to talk about books or blogging all the time? Well, probably not all that often in “real” life, but that’s okay. My book blogger friends know what it’s like to be slightly (okay, majorly) addicted to books and they won’t question my decision to stay up until 2:00 to finish one off. You Broaden My Horizons I’ve spent most of my life relatively insulated in… Read more »


Nov 22
Scythe Review: AKA An Ode to Neal Shusterman

Scythe Review: AKA An Ode to Neal Shusterman

Reviews 24 ★★★★★

How has the entire world not recognized Neal Shusterman’s genius? Seriously, I am SO hoping that the Unwind movie comes out (I haven’t seen any news since May!!) and that it does the series justice because people need to talk about his books more. Scythe is one more example of Shusterman’s talent and imagination and his ability to shed light on humanity’s moral triumphs and shortcomings. Once again, he takes a look at a dystopian (utopian?) society—this time a society where humans have defeated death, pain, poverty, and every other earthly malady. The cloud has advanced into what the world terms the “Thunderhead.” It has amassed so much knowledge that it has been able to solve all of the world’s problems. All except one—with the defeat of death, overpopulation is a major issue. Even the Thunderhead can only figure out ways to support so many people. And up till this… Read more »


Nov 20
Sunday Post & Giveaways Galore – 11/20/16

Sunday Post & Giveaways Galore – 11/20/16

Sunday Post 22

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on my blog and share news about what’s coming up in the week ahead. Last week on FYFA (and in my life): I’ve managed to recover somewhat from my election-induced bout of depression and I’m ready to get back to “regular” life (without putting my convictions to the side and going back to ignoring reality—at least I’m going to try hard not to). The only thing really going on this week was that I’ve been working hard on my NaNoWriMo novel and it’s going exceptionally well. You can check out my NaNo posts to learn a bit more about it! Here’s what you may have missed on the blog the last two weeks: The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid – Review & Giveaway… Read more »


Nov 19
A NaNoWriMo Update

A NaNoWriMo Update

Let's Discuss, NaNoWriMo 21

Well, we’re a bit over halfway through NaNoWriMo and I figured I should give an update. It’s going amazingly well and I’m feeling really good about this book overall. I’m excited! Once again, I decided to participate in Beautiful Books 2016 (which is hosted by Paper Fury and Further Up and Further In) and I’m answering their update questions here! For an introduction to my novel and to find out what it’s about, click here to read my first NaNo post. Overall, how is your mental state, and how is your novel going? Really good! Right now I’m at 32,138 words, which is over where I need to be to stay on track. Last NaNo, I was getting my word count, but I didn’t feel like my novel was going anywhere. (At least not anywhere particularly good.) And while I loved writing, it felt like a bit of a losing battle because… Read more »


Nov 16
One Snowy Night by Jill Shalvis: Review & Giveaway

One Snowy Night by Jill Shalvis: Review & Giveaway

Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 7 ★★★½

I recently picked up my first Jill Shalvis book and immediately knew it wouldn’t be my last. These are the types of quick-read romances that make me happy because they’re fun, but not entirely light and frothy. This little novella (which is shorter than it seems because it ends at about 60% on the Kindle) gives us a little extra taste of Rory and is a great addition to the Heartbreaker Bay series. What Fed My Addiction: A painful past. Max and Rory have history, and we learn what happened as the novella progresses. The overall theme is similar to the last book in this series: one of the characters did something to the other that greatly affected them without even really realizing it. I love how this highlights how our actions can have a much greater impact than we know—all the more reason to be kind to one another (a… Read more »


Nov 15
The Lost Codex by Heather Lyons: A Review of the Epic Finale

The Lost Codex by Heather Lyons: A Review of the Epic Finale

Reviews 5 ★★★★

I’ve been so excited to read this final installment of The Collectors’ Society Series, hoping that Lyons would wrap it all up in a way that did justice to these amazing characters she’s created—and I definitely got my wish! This book takes us back to Wonderland, where it all started and where Alice and company finally face off with the Piper and the other big bads in the story. The results were explosive (quite literally)! What Fed My Addiction: Sacrifice. The main characters have withstood quite a bit of pain and suffering throughout these books, but nothing compares to what they go through in these final epic battles against the Piper. There are some pretty brutal results and plenty of guilty feelings to go around when our characters who have tried so hard to protect the people they love sometimes fail. This book is brutal to our heroes—Lyons definitely doesn’t let… Read more »