Publisher: Macmillan


Feb 08
By a Charm and a Curse by Jaime Questell: Review, Giveaway & Questell’s Top Ten Addictions

By a Charm and a Curse by Jaime Questell: Review, Giveaway & Questell’s Top Ten Addictions

Author Top Ten Lists, Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 20 ★★★★

Buy Links: Who doesn’t love a book about a magical circus? A circus with both a charm and a curse? Sign me up! What Fed My Addiction: The circus atmosphere. I don’t know what it is about a traveling circus or carnival, but I just love this setting. There’s already such a sense of awe and wonder there that it works really well for a fantastical story. Plus, they’re a little creepy (I think I always think back to Something Wicked This Way Comes), which works well for this story. Emmaline’s curse. The curse itself is, again, creepy in all the best ways. Emmaline is turned into something along the lines of a living puppet. She’s solid, her senses are dulled, and she’s suddenly living a sort of shadow life. There was a lot to play with here, and Questell does it well. You couldn’t help but feel sorry for Emmaline as… Read more »


Dec 15
Island of Exiles and Sea of Strangers by Erica Cameron: Review & Giveaway

Island of Exiles and Sea of Strangers by Erica Cameron: Review & Giveaway

Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 4

Today I’m featuring the first two books in Erica Cameron’s Ryogan Chronicles, a fantasy adventure series that pushes the envelope in many ways. This first book in the series throws us into a strange and deadly desert world where every day is a fight for survival.  What Fed My Addiction: Utterly unique. I’ve never read anything like this series, and the world that Cameron has created is beyond anything I could possibly imagine. Like, seriously, how does she come up with all of it? It’s unmistakably brilliant. Diversity. Traditional gender roles are simply not a thing in this book. In fact, the society in the fantasy world features three completely accepted genders. In addition to that, sexuality and romantic relationships seem to be relatively fluid for the people in this society as well (and some people are asexual). This is all accepted without comment, which I loved. Family bonds. The society… Read more »


Oct 26
Seize Today by Pintip Dunn: Review & Giveaway

Seize Today by Pintip Dunn: Review & Giveaway

Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 6 ★★★★½

***NOTE: Seize Today is the third book in the Forget Tomorrow Trilogy (the first book was a NYT Bestselling and RITA™ Award-winning book). This book doesn’t really contain anything but minor spoilers for the first two books in the series. Click to read my reviews of Forget Tomorrow and Remember Yesterday.*** The books in this trilogy just got progressively better and better! I really enjoyed the first book, but I had some qualms that held me back from loving it. Then the second book came along, and I couldn’t think of much to say in the negatives section of my review. I’m fairly certain that this book was my favorite of the three (maybe it’s just because it’s fresher than book 2, though?) I loved it, and Dunn even managed to get me to ignore a trope that typically bugs the heck out of me… What Fed My Addiction: Possible futures. Olivia can’t really see the… Read more »


Jun 05
Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott: Review, Giveaway & Scott’s Top 5 Writing Snack Attack Addictions

Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott: Review, Giveaway & Scott’s Top 5 Writing Snack Attack Addictions

Author Top Ten Lists, Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 26 ★★★★

Okay, here’s the deal: This book is seriously messed up! It kind of reminds me of a train wreck you can’t look away from—not because it’s bad, by any means, but because the characters and the situation are so incredibly, intensely broken and dark. What Fed My Addiction: Surreal contemporary? The book is interesting because I was never quite sure what I was reading. I assumed from the beginning that it was sort of a dark fantasy/paranormal story, but after a while I determined there weren’t really any fantastical or paranormal elements, with the possible exception of Wilson—who I couldn’t quite figure out. Yet, the book didn’t read like a contemporary exactly either. The story involves human trafficking, but the “houses” with their systems of pay and the way you would reach the next house—it all felt incredibly surreal, like a contemporary on crack or something. And I couldn’t tell if… Read more »


Mar 22
Bite-Sized Reviews of Waking in Time, Redux, Confessions of a High School Disaster, Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Mutant Mantis Lunch Ladies

Bite-Sized Reviews of Waking in Time, Redux, Confessions of a High School Disaster, Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Mutant Mantis Lunch Ladies

Reviews 19

I’ve gotten a lot of new books for review lately, and I’ve decided to do bite-sized reviews of some of them, so I don’t have to post every single day of the week for forever. Hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! I’m a huge fan of time-travel stories, so when the author offered this one up for review (at an event I attended) I had to snatch it up! I’m glad I did because it turned out to be a great read! The story follows Abbi, who wakes up one morning and it’s suddenly 1983. Everyone seems to know her, but she doesn’t know anyone … or know how or why she’s traveled. This would be bad enough, but she keeps heading backward further and further—she’s never sure how long she’ll be in one place or why she’s ended up in the times she does…. Read more »


Feb 22
Bite-Sized Reviews of The Impossible Fortress, Revenge of the Evil Librarian, Liberation, and The Anatomical Shape of a Heart

Bite-Sized Reviews of The Impossible Fortress, Revenge of the Evil Librarian, Liberation, and The Anatomical Shape of a Heart

Reviews 8

Lately I feel like I’ll never catch up with reviews. I might have to do another installment of bite-sized reviews sooner rather than later because I want to let you guys know my thoughts on all the fantastic books I’ve been reading lately! Hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! This book was fun and kooky and nostalgic. Though I’ll admit that the often crude and horny teenage boys occasionally rubbed me the wrong way (this book definitely wasn’t trying to be PC), I do think that Rekulak captured the essence of these characters well and that they’re probably pretty more realistic than I’d like them to be. And I loved that, in the end, loyalty and friendship won out and Billy’s best friends rallied around him in ways I wasn’t expecting. I loved all of the nods to the 80s—from the references to TV… Read more »


Feb 15
Jonah by Nikki Kelly – Review

Jonah by Nikki Kelly – Review

Reviews 8 ★★★½

It’s been a long wait for the final installment in the Styclar Saga, so Kelly made sure that we had an epic ending to the series. We got answers to all of the questions that remained about the three dimensions and then some. What Fed My Addiction: Boy troubles resolved. In this book, Lailah didn’t do any waffling between Jonah and Gabriel. She knew exactly who she wanted and why. That didn’t mean that the road to romance between her and Jonah was smooth, though—Lailah had determined that she wasn’t going to survive the fight with the Purebloods, so she didn’t feel that she could give herself to Jonah completely. And then there was the fact that Gabriel didn’t remember that Lailah had already let him down gently (since she had turned back time in the last book). The romance between Jonah and Lailah was probably my favorite part of this final… Read more »


Feb 02
Caraval by Stephanie Garber: Audiobook Review

Caraval by Stephanie Garber: Audiobook Review

Reviews 24 ★★★★★

Let Garber sweep you up in the fantastical game of Caraval, where the lines between fantasy and reality are undisputably blurred and you’ll never know what to expect next! What Fed My Addiction: Welcome to the game! The game of Caraval is completely fantastical and more than a little dangerous. While, on the surface, it’s just a sort of scavenger hunt where Scarlett has to follow the clues, there are a plethora of magical elements that not only make the game vastly more intriguing but also throw plenty of roadblocks in Scarlett’s way. Plus, Scarlett is never quite sure what’s real and what’s all part of the game—and as the stakes get higher and higher, that distinction becomes very important indeed. By the end, Scarlett is fighting desperately just to make it out with both her and her sister alive! Caraval is full of fascinating and whimsical surprises that kept me guessing through the entire story. Sensory… Read more »


Jan 19
Pushing the Boundaries by Stacey Trombley – Review, Giveaway & Trombley’s Top Ten Addictions

Pushing the Boundaries by Stacey Trombley – Review, Giveaway & Trombley’s Top Ten Addictions

Author Top Ten Lists, Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 8 ★★★½

This unique contemporary romance shines the spotlight on cultural differences and the ways that we sometimes judge based on expectation rather than reality. Set in Haiti, the book focuses on the country’s beauty rather than its drawbacks.  What Fed My Addiction: Haiti! I’ve been to Haiti three times—twice in the process of adopting my son and once when I escorted a baby girl with spina bifida who we had hosted back home to her momma. So, I have a special connection with the country and I could truly relate to Myra’s thoughts and feelings when she arrives in Port au Prince. It can be disconcerting to arrive in a place that’s so different—so bustling and active and a little overwhelming when you first step off the plane (heck, the plane ride itself was a little strange when I flew into Cap Haitien). Myra wants to see the “real” Haiti, not just… Read more »


Nov 25
Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Reviews 8 ★★★★

Lots of reviews being posted today. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby Published by Balzer & Bray on 10/25/16 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Suspense Pages: 288 Source: Edelweiss My content rating: YA (Physical abuse shown, sexual abuse referenced but not described) My rating: The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance. When Nico Walker’s older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah’s daily cruelties. Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found. But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She’s thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden… Read more »