Publisher: Balzer & Bray


Nov 25
Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Reviews 8 ★★★★

Lots of reviews being posted today. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby Published by Balzer & Bray on 10/25/16 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Suspense Pages: 288 Source: Edelweiss My content rating: YA (Physical abuse shown, sexual abuse referenced but not described) My rating: The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance. When Nico Walker’s older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah’s daily cruelties. Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found. But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She’s thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden… Read more »


May 24
The Cage and The Hunt by Megan Shepherd – Review

The Cage and The Hunt by Megan Shepherd – Review

Reviews 21 ★★★½

The Cage by Megan Shepherd Series: The Cage #1 Published by Balzer & Bray on 5/26/15 Genres: Young Adult, Sci Fi, Fantasy Pages: 405 Source: Edelweiss My content rating: YA (Nothing more than kissing) My rating: The Maze Runner meets Scott Westerfeld in this gripping new series about teens held captive in a human zoo by an otherworldly race. From Megan Shepherd, the acclaimed author of The Madman’s Daughter trilogy. When Cora Mason wakes in a desert, she doesn’t know where she is or who put her there. As she explores, she finds an impossible mix of environments—tundra next to desert, farm next to jungle, and a strangely empty town cobbled together from different cultures—all watched over by eerie black windows. And she isn’t alone. Four other teenagers have also been taken: a beautiful model, a tattooed smuggler, a secretive genius, and an army brat who seems to know too much about Cora’s past. None of… Read more »


May 16
The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye – ARC Review (AKA You Should Read This Book)

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye – ARC Review (AKA You Should Read This Book)

Reviews 26 ★★★★½

I’ve already featured this book once on the blog (check out my Bookish Backdrop filled with Russian opulence if you missed it) and told you how much I adored the book, but now that the release date is getting closer I thought it was only fair to give you a full review and expound on the reasons I loved it! After all, you can’t just trust my babbling, nonsensical words of affirmation – you need cold, hard facts! (Or, well, opinions … since that’s what they are, no matter how much I think I’m right.) To start off, I have to tell you that I had very high expectations for this book. I fell in love with Evelyn’s writing two years ago when I read her short story in an anthology – I haven’t been able to get it out of my mind since. I’ve been anxiously awaiting something more from her ever since…. Read more »


Apr 21
Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto – Review

Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto – Review

Reviews 9 ★★★★

Revenge and the Wild is one of the most unique books I’ve read – a steampunk, Western, fantasy (or urban fantasy?) mash-up that packs a definite punch! Yes, there’s a lot going on, but I kind of loved all of it, so I didn’t mind that. The synopsis of this book explains it pretty perfectly, so I’m not going to bother repeating it here. Instead, I’ll just jump right into my review … What Fed My Addiction: Cannibals! Seriously, when was the last time you read a really good cannibal book? Can’t think of of one? Guess you’ll have to read RatW! This book was kind of dark and gritty (and occasionally a little gross), but still a really fun read. That seems like a pretty impressive accomplishment to me. The creatures. Cannibals were only one dangerous type of presence in this world. There were also vampires, elves, werewolves, trolls and other… Read more »


Jan 30
The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye – Bookish Backdrop, Review Preview & Giveaway

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye – Bookish Backdrop, Review Preview & Giveaway

Bookish Backdrops, Giveaways (Ended) 9

About the Author Evelyn Skye was once offered a job by the C.I.A., she not-so-secretly wishes she was on “So You Think You Can Dance,” and if you challenge her to a pizza-eating contest, she guarantees she will win. When she isn’t writing, Evelyn can be found chasing her daughter on the playground or sitting on the couch, immersed in a good book and eating way too many cookies. THE CROWN’S GAME is her first novel. Evelyn can be found online at www.evelynskye.com and on Twitter @EvelynSkyeYA. Author Links:       First off, I just want to give a quick little review preview of this book. I have to tell you that I have been waiting impatiently to read this one – I have loved Evelyn Skye ever since I read her short story “The Chemistry of You and Me,” which was so fantastically unforgettable that I still often think about it. Of… Read more »


Dec 21
Bite Sized Reviews – Snow Like Ashes and Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch

Bite Sized Reviews – Snow Like Ashes and Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch

Reviews 10 ★★★★

I wanted to write quick reviews of these two because I just haven’t gotten to them, but they deserve some attention! Hopefully these bite sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch Series: Snow Like Ashes #1 Published by Balzer & Bray on 10/14/14 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy Pages: 416 Source: RT My content rating: YA (Nothing more than kissing, Some violence) My rating: A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making. Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since. Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the… Read more »


Jul 20
Get Even and Get Dirty by Gretchen McNeil – Review

Get Even and Get Dirty by Gretchen McNeil – Review

Reviews 7 ★★★★

Get Dirty by Gretchen McNeil Series: Don’t Get Mad #2 Also in this series: Get Even Published by Balzer & Bray on 6/16/15 Genres: Contemporary, Mysteries & Detective Stories,Mystery & Detective, Young Adult Pages: 384 Source: NetGalley My content rating: Mature YA (Characters do have sex, but it’s not really shown, Some violence) My rating: The members of Don’t Get Mad aren’t just mad anymore . . . they’re afraid. And with Margot in a coma and Bree stuck in juvie, it’s up to Olivia and Kitty to try to catch their deadly tormentor. But just as the girls are about to go on the offensive, Ed the Head reveals a shocking secret that turns all their theories upside down. The killer could be anyone, and this time he—or she—is out for more than just revenge. The girls desperately try to discover the killer’s identity as their personal lives are falling apart: Donté… Read more »


May 15
Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge – Review

Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge – Review

Reviews 18 ★★★★½

Crimson Bound is a dark, gritty fairy tale, set in a world where darkness just may overcome the light. Fans of Cruel Beauty will not be disappointed in Hodge’s new book, which has the same dark tone and complex folklore (though the worlds and characters are not the same). What I loved: Rich worldbuilding. Hodge certainly doesn’t skimp on the worldbuilding. She has a rich magical (and almost mythological) history for her world with very distinct elements such as the Devourer, who wants to spread darkness over the world. I loved the fantastical elements to this book – the literal knitting of spells, the progression from human to bloodbound to forestborn (and how that occurs), the creation of the weapons that were capable of defeating the Devourer – there were so many unique and elaborate elements to the folklore. And Hodge brought it all together beautifully. Beautiful writing. From the very beginning, I… Read more »


Apr 18
Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke by Anne Blankman – Review & Giveaway

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke by Anne Blankman – Review & Giveaway

Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 4 ★★★½

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke is the second installment in the Prisoner of Night and Fog series (a duology, I believe?). This book found Gretchen and David back in Germany, attempting to clear David’s name when he is accused of a murder. It soon becomes apparent that the murder is just part of a larger cover-up, and Gretchen and David hope to uncover the truth and ruin Hitler’s chance at leading Germany down a horrific path. What I loved: WWII background.  Just like in the first book, it was interesting to learn about the Nazi regime and what was happening in Germany just before the war (as well as in England where people like Winston Churchill were just starting to speak out about Hitler). Gretchen and David were right in the middle of the action, while they were trying to clear David’s name, and they were discovering more and more… Read more »


Apr 18
5 Star Review & Giveaway – Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman

5 Star Review & Giveaway – Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman

Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 0 ★★★★½

“Debut novelist Blankman’s account of life in Munich prior to Hitler’s 1933 elevation to the chancellorship is completely engrossing….Blankman creates riveting tension for her heroine and pulls readers through with an irresistible subplot featuring forbidden love.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review) “I’m in awed envy of the daring with which Anne Blankman plunges into her difficult and sensitive subject matter. To read Prisoner of Night and Fog is to be immersed in a breathtaking evocation of Munich in the 1930s, where life is ordinary and skin-crawling by turns, and in the painful, hopeful story of one young girl’s awakening conscience. It’s terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true.” — Elizabeth Wein, award-winning author of Code Name Verity “Prisoner of Night and Fog seamlessly blends the fascinating, terrifying facts of Hitler’s rise to power with a gripping murder mystery. Gretchen is a brave and believable protagonist,… Read more »