Publisher: Balzer & Bray

Bite-Sized Reviews of Waking in Time, Redux, Confessions of a High School Disaster, Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Mutant Mantis Lunch Ladies

Bite-Sized Reviews of Waking in Time, Redux, Confessions of a High School Disaster, Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Mutant Mantis Lunch Ladies

I’ve gotten a lot of new books for review lately, and I’ve decided to do bite-sized reviews of some of them, so I don’t have to post every single day of the week for forever. Hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! I’m a huge fan of time-travel stories, so when the author offered this one up for review (at an event I attended) I had to snatch it up! I’m […]

Posted March 22, 2017 in Reviews / 19 Comments
Two #ownvoices Reads: The Hate U Give and The Education of Margot Sanchez

Two #ownvoices Reads: The Hate U Give and The Education of Margot Sanchez

These two books were very similar in theme and both #ownvoices** reads, so I decided to go ahead and review them together! Both books feature POC** main characters—Margot is Puerto Rican and Starr is black. Ironically, both Margot and Starr’s dads own grocery stores in an inner city area and the girls both attend private schools outside of the city. Both of them struggle with identity issues because of this—that balance between fitting in and […]

Posted March 11, 2017 in Reviews / 8 Comments
Bite-Sized Reviews of the Rest of the Books I Read in 2016 (Including The Beauty of Darkness and Glass Sword)

Bite-Sized Reviews of the Rest of the Books I Read in 2016 (Including The Beauty of Darkness and Glass Sword)

Okay, so I might be exaggerating a little bit with that title—I’m not actually reviewing all of the rest of the books I read in 2016, but I am reviewing most of them. The only holdouts are a couple of books that I plan to review along with future books in the series and a couple that are releasing next week (which I’ll review then). Oh, and I’m still reading and the month isn’t quite over, so […]

Posted December 30, 2016 in Reviews / 12 Comments
Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Lots of reviews being posted today. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby Published by Balzer & Bray on 10/25/16 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Suspense Pages: 288 Source: Edelweiss My content rating: YA (Physical abuse shown, sexual abuse referenced but not described) My rating: The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns […]

Posted November 25, 2016 in Reviews / 8 Comments
The Cage and The Hunt by Megan Shepherd – Review

The Cage and The Hunt by Megan Shepherd – Review

The Cage by Megan Shepherd Series: The Cage #1 Published by Balzer & Bray on 5/26/15 Genres: Young Adult, Sci Fi, Fantasy Pages: 405 Source: Edelweiss My content rating: YA (Nothing more than kissing) My rating: The Maze Runner meets Scott Westerfeld in this gripping new series about teens held captive in a human zoo by an otherworldly race. From Megan Shepherd, the acclaimed author of The Madman’s Daughter trilogy. When Cora Mason wakes in a desert, she doesn’t know where […]

Posted May 24, 2016 in Reviews / 21 Comments
The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye – ARC Review (AKA You Should Read This Book)

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye – ARC Review (AKA You Should Read This Book)

I’ve already featured this book once on the blog (check out my Bookish Backdrop filled with Russian opulence if you missed it) and told you how much I adored the book, but now that the release date is getting closer I thought it was only fair to give you a full review and expound on the reasons I loved it! After all, you can’t just trust my babbling, nonsensical words of affirmation – you need cold, hard […]

Posted May 16, 2016 in Reviews / 26 Comments
Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto – Review

Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto – Review

Revenge and the Wild is one of the most unique books I’ve read – a steampunk, Western, fantasy (or urban fantasy?) mash-up that packs a definite punch! Yes, there’s a lot going on, but I kind of loved all of it, so I didn’t mind that. The synopsis of this book explains it pretty perfectly, so I’m not going to bother repeating it here. Instead, I’ll just jump right into my review … What Fed […]

Posted April 21, 2016 in Reviews / 9 Comments
The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye – Bookish Backdrop, Review Preview & Giveaway

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye – Bookish Backdrop, Review Preview & Giveaway

About the Author Evelyn Skye was once offered a job by the C.I.A., she not-so-secretly wishes she was on “So You Think You Can Dance,” and if you challenge her to a pizza-eating contest, she guarantees she will win. When she isn’t writing, Evelyn can be found chasing her daughter on the playground or sitting on the couch, immersed in a good book and eating way too many cookies. THE CROWN’S GAME is her first […]

Posted January 30, 2016 in Bookish Backdrops, Giveaways (Ended) / 9 Comments
Bite Sized Reviews – Snow Like Ashes and Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch

Bite Sized Reviews – Snow Like Ashes and Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch

I wanted to write quick reviews of these two because I just haven’t gotten to them, but they deserve some attention! Hopefully these bite sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch Series: Snow Like Ashes #1 Published by Balzer & Bray on 10/14/14 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy Pages: 416 Source: RT My content rating: YA (Nothing more than kissing, Some violence) My rating: A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in […]

Posted December 21, 2015 in Reviews / 10 Comments
Get Even and Get Dirty by Gretchen McNeil – Review

Get Even and Get Dirty by Gretchen McNeil – Review

Get Dirty by Gretchen McNeil Series: Don’t Get Mad #2 Also in this series: Get Even Published by Balzer & Bray on 6/16/15 Genres: Contemporary, Mysteries & Detective Stories,Mystery & Detective, Young Adult Pages: 384 Source: NetGalley My content rating: Mature YA (Characters do have sex, but it’s not really shown, Some violence) My rating: The members of Don’t Get Mad aren’t just mad anymore . . . they’re afraid. And with Margot in a coma and Bree […]

Posted July 20, 2015 in Reviews / 7 Comments