Before I Disappear by Danielle Stinson: Review, Giveaway, & Stinson’s Top Ten Addictions

July 18, 2019 Author Top Ten Lists, Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 20 ★★★★★

Before I Disappear by Danielle Stinson: Review, Giveaway, & Stinson's Top Ten Addictions

Before I Disappear by Danielle Stinson: Review, Giveaway, & Stinson’s Top Ten AddictionsBefore I Disappear by Danielle Stinson
Published by Feiwel & Friends on July 23, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Contemporary Fantasy
Pages: 384
Source: Blog Tour, NetGalley
Cover Artist: David Curtis, Katie Klimowicz
My content rating: YA (Nothing more than kissing; Some violence, including abuse)
My rating:
5 Stars

Rose Montgomery parks her family’s trailer in Fort Glory, Oregon with one goal: to carve out a new life for herself and her little brother, Charlie. They need a fresh start for their family, and she thinks she's finally found it in a town where nobody knows them.

But Rose’s plans come crashing down when, in an instant, Fort Glory disappears and every person in town vanishes into thin air—including Charlie.

Rose and four other teens become trapped in the Fold, a patch of woods caught halfway between the real world and the lost town. In the Fold, a mysterious force suspends the laws of physics, and everyone’s inner darkness has the power to kill.

To survive the Fold, Rose must unravel the clues Charlie sends her from the missing town. And Rose has to find Charlie soon—or he'll be gone forever.

add-to-goodreads 

You know how sometimes you start reading a book, and within just a few pages, you’re already saying, “I LOVE this!”? That was Before I Disappear for me. Right away, I could tell there was going to be something special in these pages—I was immediately wrapped up in the intrigue: What’s so odd about Charlie? What’s this music he’s hearing? Why have they had to move so much? What are they running from? What dangers are lurking in Fort Glory?

Well, I’m happy to say that the book never let me down. I was riveted throughout. I don’t want to say too much about what happens because I think it will be more fun to discover on your own, but I will say that a whole lot of craziness ensues when Fort Glory disappears. But I also loved these characters. Both Ian and Rose are obviously broken in many ways, but you can tell that both of them want something more out of life. I was definitely hoping these two would end up together in the end. Then there’s sweet Becca, nerdy Blaine and Jeremy, who has his own role to play, but I don’t want to say much about it. And Charlie. Ah, Charlie: full of mystery and wonder. And poetry! His short sections are written in verse (and I couldn’t have loved them more!!). I will say, I had pretty much figured out Rose’s secret long before the big reveal at the end, but that didn’t ruin the emotional impact of it. Honestly, I can’t think of much to say as far as negatives go. This book was pure perfection!

Perfect for fans of Stranger Things or A Wrinkle in Time (the book distinctly reminded me of both of those at some points—even while it stood very much on its own), this mind-bending sci-fi is sure to set your imagination racing!

***Disclosure: I received this book from the publisher via NetGalley and FFBC blog tours in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given and all opinions are my own.***

 

About the Author

Stories were a central part of Danielle Stinson’s childhood. Growing up in a military family meant frequent moves across the US and abroad. She spent many summers in her room surrounded by unpacked boxes and stacks of library books. She currently lives with her husband and four boys in Virginia, where she writes fiction for young adults. Before I Disappear is her debut novel.

 

Author Links:
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png 


Cover Designer Website (Katie Klimowicz):

Cover Artist Website (David Curtis):



Danielle Stinson’s Top Ten Addictions

1. My Kindle/ E-reader.

I used to be so anti-device. Then I got married and my books took over every inch of space. They were in closets and under beds and mixed in with the canned goods in the pantry. I was given a kindle as a gift, and it changed my life. Read in bed with no light? Buy any book with the click of a button? Take hundreds of books anywhere without breaking your back? Yes, please.

2. Coffee

I’ve survived without it before (while pregnant), but let me tell you, it wasn’t pretty.

3. Sweating

It sounds gross, but I love to sweat and push my body to its limits. Running/weightlifting/ sports. I love it all.

4. Laughter

I love to laugh and hear other people laughing, especially my kids.

5. Romance/ Urban fantasy

Romance and urban fantasy books remind me of why I love to read. When I’m in a slump, this is where I go to get out of it.

6. Chocolate 

It’s medicinal.

7. The smell of the forest/mountains/ocean

Nature makes me feel peaceful, and smell is by far my strongest sense.

8. Makeup

Red lip. Cat eye. Full makeup. None. It’s one of my favorite ways to express my mood.

9. Changing seasons

Fall is my favorite season, but I love all four. Also, the energy in the air when one changes into another.

10. Travelling/ New Scenery

I have a wanderer’s spirit. I grew up constantly moving with the military, and my parents were big on showing us as much of the world as they could. Even now, I associate trains, planes and car rides with adventures and infinite possibilities.

Prize: 1 Finished Copy of Before I Disappear (US only)

(I know the Rafflecopter prize title is incorrect right now—I’ve let FFBC know so they can fix it.)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the Tour!

 

20 Responses to “Before I Disappear by Danielle Stinson: Review, Giveaway, & Stinson’s Top Ten Addictions”

  1. Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight

    I already REALLY wanted to read this (mostly because I heard it compared to The Society, though it was on my radar before that hah) but honestly hearing your excitement for it makes me a million times more excited too! Because twinsies!

    I’m with Danielle on coffee and traveling but I need to know HOW she gave it up while pregnant?! My doctor was like “girl, get you to thee Dunkin” 😂

    Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight recently posted: The 100 Episode 6×09: What You Take With You
  2. Marie @ Drizzle & Hurricane Books

    Ahh I’m so happy you loved this book so much, yay! I recently read it and really liked it, even if at times I felt a little confused by the inner workings of it all. I loved the characters though 😀
    Lovely review! And I loved reading about the author’s addictions, yay to chocolate haha 🙂

    • Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

      I do think there’s actual science behind the concept that’s way over my head (with a good dose of “fiction”). I tend to read my sci-fi with an attitude of “don’t worry too much about how it would all actually work” as long as the author gives me a plausible scenario that makes me think they know how it all works. LOL!

  3. Suzanne @ The Bookish Libra

    This sounds like a great read. I love your descriptions of the characters. I love the author’s obsessions too. I used to be anti-device as well but my Kindle Paperwhite has really grown on me in the past year or so.

    • Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

      Before I blogged I never read anything on my Kindle, but once I started reading review copies digitally, I realized the benefits. I still typically read only review books that way, though. Most of my own personal books are physical copies.

  4. Chana @ Paper Procrastinators

    This sounds so interesting!! Just in the synopsis it already takes such an unexpected turn, I can’t even imagine how good the book is. Also, I love all of Danielle’s addictions. My kindle, coffee, and chocolate are definitely things I can’t live without.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.