Publisher: Balzer & Bray


Apr 26
Bite-Sized Reviews of Children of Blood and Bone & Dread Nation

Bite-Sized Reviews of Children of Blood and Bone & Dread Nation

Reviews 33 ★★★★½

I’ve got two bite-sized reviews for you today. I hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! First off, I just have to start by saying that the audiobook version of this book is amazing! Bahni Turpin is a fantastic narrator, and I absolutely love the accents she uses for the book I have no idea if they are accurate African accents—or if they’re even meant to be, since the book takes place in a fantasy world, not the real world—but they definitely have an African flair to them. I appreciated the differences between Zélie’s more rural sounding accent and the smoother sound of Amari and Inan’s voices (those ultra-rolling r’s are so beautiful to listen to). I almost never had trouble determining whose narration I was listening to, which is hard for a single narrator to manage. Now on to the story. The fact that we… Read more »


Nov 06
Bite-Sized Reviews of Now Is Everything, Frost Like Night, and The Raven Cycle Series

Bite-Sized Reviews of Now Is Everything, Frost Like Night, and The Raven Cycle Series

Reviews 22

I’ve got three bite-sized reviews today, one for a series. I hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! So, I picked up this book on a total whim. I was glancing through Twitter and saw this adorable pic that the author’s daughter had drawn telling people to read her mom’s book. Since I’m a sucker for that sort of thing, I immediately headed over to Goodreads to check it out, and it sounded like the type of book I’d love! I headed over to Edelweiss, downloaded it and immediately started reading! (See, I wasn’t kidding when I said it was a whim.) The book is a thriller of sorts, but it’s also a portrait of abuse. From the outside, Hadley’s family looks perfect. But the reality is far from that image—Hadley’s father is controlling and abusive, and she spends every day just trying to live… Read more »


Oct 27
Bite-Sized Reviews of Long Way Down, Nyxia, Hanna Who Fell from the Sky & My Heart and Other Black Holes

Bite-Sized Reviews of Long Way Down, Nyxia, Hanna Who Fell from the Sky & My Heart and Other Black Holes

Reviews 23

I’ve got four bite-sized reviews today. Three new(ish) releases and one backlist book. I hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! I honestly don’t even know how to describe in words how I felt about this book. You almost just have to experience it for yourself to understand its brilliance. When I started the book, I was both delighted and scared to see that it was written in verse (it’s all free verse, with one concrete poem thrown in there). How would Reynolds convey the story with so few words and still connect us to the characters? Would I know what the heck was going on? Turns out that Reynolds did indeed convince me to care about Will in a sparse number of actual words—and time, really. Most of the book takes place during a sixty-second elevator ride (though it tells a story that actually spans… Read more »


Jul 05
Bite-Sized Reviews of The Upside of Unrequited, The Unlikelies, Dead Ed in My Head, and Bang

Bite-Sized Reviews of The Upside of Unrequited, The Unlikelies, Dead Ed in My Head, and Bang

Coyer, Reviews 24

I know I’ve been relying on bite-sized reviews a lot lately, but I feel like it’s the only way I can get them all in. I hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! This book was all sorts of adorable and it reminded me of me as a teen. Though I didn’t struggle with weight issues, I was very afraid to let a boy know I liked him—much better to avoid being hurt or embarrassed, which is exactly how Molly feels in the book. My friends who have struggled with weight issues have said that they connected to this book even more deeply—Molly thinks about her weight a lot, and in some ways, she lets it define her. Her insecurities lead to a complete unwillingness to take chances. She leaves the risk-taking up to her twin sister, who is daring enough in the area of romance for both of… Read more »


May 30
Bite-Sized Reviews of The Names They Gave Us, The Crown’s Fate, Tell Me Three Things and We Were Liars

Bite-Sized Reviews of The Names They Gave Us, The Crown’s Fate, Tell Me Three Things and We Were Liars

Reviews 24

Today I’ve got bite-sized reviews of a few of my recent reads. This was a great batch of books, so I hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! This book gave me all the feels and it was just what I needed right now. I’ve heard amazing things about Emery Lord, but I’ve never read her, and I have to confess that I was hesitant about this book because of the religious themes. Not because I don’t like religion in my books exactly, but because I’m always very nervous that Christianity is going to end up being slammed—it feels to me like contemporary books from non-Christian publishers tend to be skewed toward the idea that Christians are generally judgmental and possibly a little evil, so…. But I LOVED the progressive view of Christianity that was given in this book. It reminds us that Christians are not… Read more »


Mar 22
Bite-Sized Reviews of Waking in Time, Redux, Confessions of a High School Disaster, Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Mutant Mantis Lunch Ladies

Bite-Sized Reviews of Waking in Time, Redux, Confessions of a High School Disaster, Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, and Mutant Mantis Lunch Ladies

Reviews 19

I’ve gotten a lot of new books for review lately, and I’ve decided to do bite-sized reviews of some of them, so I don’t have to post every single day of the week for forever. Hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! I’m a huge fan of time-travel stories, so when the author offered this one up for review (at an event I attended) I had to snatch it up! I’m glad I did because it turned out to be a great read! The story follows Abbi, who wakes up one morning and it’s suddenly 1983. Everyone seems to know her, but she doesn’t know anyone … or know how or why she’s traveled. This would be bad enough, but she keeps heading backward further and further—she’s never sure how long she’ll be in one place or why she’s ended up in the times she does…. Read more »


Mar 11
Two #ownvoices Reads: The Hate U Give and The Education of Margot Sanchez

Two #ownvoices Reads: The Hate U Give and The Education of Margot Sanchez

Reviews 8

These two books were very similar in theme and both #ownvoices** reads, so I decided to go ahead and review them together! Both books feature POC** main characters—Margot is Puerto Rican and Starr is black. Ironically, both Margot and Starr’s dads own grocery stores in an inner city area and the girls both attend private schools outside of the city. Both of them struggle with identity issues because of this—that balance between fitting in and holding onto your culture and your identity. Both of them also have to deal with their old friends (in their neighborhoods) feeling like they’re “selling out.” That’s where the similarities pretty much end. The Hate U Give has a little more serious take on the subject—it features serious gang violence and a police shooting. The Education of Margot Sanchez is more of a romance at heart and focuses more strongly on Margot’s struggle between her two… Read more »


Dec 30
Bite-Sized Reviews of the Rest of the Books I Read in 2016 (Including The Beauty of Darkness and Glass Sword)

Bite-Sized Reviews of the Rest of the Books I Read in 2016 (Including The Beauty of Darkness and Glass Sword)

Reviews 12

Okay, so I might be exaggerating a little bit with that title—I’m not actually reviewing all of the rest of the books I read in 2016, but I am reviewing most of them. The only holdouts are a couple of books that I plan to review along with future books in the series and a couple that are releasing next week (which I’ll review then). Oh, and I’m still reading and the month isn’t quite over, so … Anyway, hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! This was everything I was hoping for in a series finale. Even though the romance was rocky (and I was very scared for Rafe and Lia), it seemed realistic. After all, these two both had a strong sense of responsibility for their kingdoms (and Lia for Venda as well because of the prophecy). This put them at odds sometimes because it was… Read more »


Nov 25
Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Reviews 8 ★★★★

Lots of reviews being posted today. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby Published by Balzer & Bray on 10/25/16 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Suspense Pages: 288 Source: Edelweiss My content rating: YA (Physical abuse shown, sexual abuse referenced but not described) My rating: The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance. When Nico Walker’s older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah’s daily cruelties. Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found. But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She’s thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden… Read more »


May 24
The Cage and The Hunt by Megan Shepherd – Review

The Cage and The Hunt by Megan Shepherd – Review

Reviews 21 ★★★½

The Cage by Megan Shepherd Series: The Cage #1 Published by Balzer & Bray on 5/26/15 Genres: Young Adult, Sci Fi, Fantasy Pages: 405 Source: Edelweiss My content rating: YA (Nothing more than kissing) My rating: The Maze Runner meets Scott Westerfeld in this gripping new series about teens held captive in a human zoo by an otherworldly race. From Megan Shepherd, the acclaimed author of The Madman’s Daughter trilogy. When Cora Mason wakes in a desert, she doesn’t know where she is or who put her there. As she explores, she finds an impossible mix of environments—tundra next to desert, farm next to jungle, and a strangely empty town cobbled together from different cultures—all watched over by eerie black windows. And she isn’t alone. Four other teenagers have also been taken: a beautiful model, a tattooed smuggler, a secretive genius, and an army brat who seems to know too much about Cora’s past. None of… Read more »