Publisher: Penguin


Feb 06
Bite-Sized Reviews of Firestarter, The Lonely Ones, We Come Apart and The Life-Changing Manga of Tidying Up

Bite-Sized Reviews of Firestarter, The Lonely Ones, We Come Apart and The Life-Changing Manga of Tidying Up

Reviews 26

I’ve got four reviews for you today: a YA steampunk, two YA verse novels (one of them is borderline YA/MG), and a manga. I hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! (Check out my review of the first two books in this series and Sim’s Top Ten Addictions!) What a fabulously wild ride! Though Timekeeper is still my favorite book in this series, the very end of Firestarter made the whole series journey more than worth it. Sim puts her characters through a lot in this book–it’s full of action, a whole lot of twists and turns, and brutal loss. Still, I’ll confess that it took me a long time to read the book, and there were times that it dragged a bit for me. Maybe that’s just because I wasn’t ever as invested in the newer characters as I was in Danny and Colton. But luckily, this book… Read more »


Oct 27
Bite-Sized Reviews of Long Way Down, Nyxia, Hanna Who Fell from the Sky & My Heart and Other Black Holes

Bite-Sized Reviews of Long Way Down, Nyxia, Hanna Who Fell from the Sky & My Heart and Other Black Holes

Reviews 23

I’ve got four bite-sized reviews today. Three new(ish) releases and one backlist book. I hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! I honestly don’t even know how to describe in words how I felt about this book. You almost just have to experience it for yourself to understand its brilliance. When I started the book, I was both delighted and scared to see that it was written in verse (it’s all free verse, with one concrete poem thrown in there). How would Reynolds convey the story with so few words and still connect us to the characters? Would I know what the heck was going on? Turns out that Reynolds did indeed convince me to care about Will in a sparse number of actual words—and time, really. Most of the book takes place during a sixty-second elevator ride (though it tells a story that actually spans… Read more »


Sep 08
A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares by Krystal Sutherland: Review, Giveaway and Sutherland’s Top Ten Addictions

A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares by Krystal Sutherland: Review, Giveaway and Sutherland’s Top Ten Addictions

Author Top Ten Lists, Coyer, Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 30 ★★★★½

This book starts out super fun and quirky, and to be honest, that’s all I was expecting out of it, but it turned into something more. In fact, there were parts of this book that were downright heartbreaking. By about halfway through, I realized that there was more than meets the eye with this little gem. It’s not just a book about facing a list of fears (often in humorous and quirky ways). No, this book is about the fears that we shove down so deep that we hide them even from ourselves. It’s about facing the fact that sometimes fear rules us because we let it. And that some fears are well-deserved, but that doesn’t mean we should let them keep us from truly living. So, I loved pretty much everything about this book, from the family relationships, to the friendships, to the romance, to the way it handled… Read more »


Aug 29
Bite-Sized Reviews Audiobook Edition: Midnight Jewel, Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy, and Of Beast and Beauty

Bite-Sized Reviews Audiobook Edition: Midnight Jewel, Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy, and Of Beast and Beauty

Coyer, Reviews 24

I’ve got bite-sized reviews of some of the audiobooks I’ve been listening to lately. I truly love my library (or, technically, most of these came from my mom’s library). If you have access to Axis 360, I highly recommend you check it out—they have a fantastic selection of audiobooks! I hope these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! One thing to know going into this book is that it takes place concurrently with the events in The Glittering Court, but it’s told from the perspective of Mira as opposed to Adelaide. This means that some of the story overlaps. But, if you read book one, you remember that there were a lot of mysteries surrounding both Mira and Tamsin. This book fills in those holes for Mira and we find out where she was disappearing to all the time—among other secrets. I really enjoyed the spy aspects of the book… Read more »


Jul 31
Wandering Star by Romina Russell: A Rereadathon Review & Giveaway!

Wandering Star by Romina Russell: A Rereadathon Review & Giveaway!

Coyer, Giveaways (Ended), Reviews 14 ★★★★

It’s been a long time since I read the first book in this series (I probably should have actually participated in the rereadathon of the first book, but I just didn’t have time), so it took me a little bit of time to remember what was happening, but once I got myself warmed up, I found that I was enthralled with the worlds of the Zodiac once again! This second book picked up right where the first left off—after the destruction of Cancer, Rho and her brother are refugees of sorts on Capricorn. She’s overwhelmed with guilt over Mathias’s and her father’s deaths (not to mention many other citizens of Cancer) and she’s pretty much given up on being a leader. Of course, she might not get to choose whether or not to lead. What Fed My Addiction: The Zodiac worlds. I just love the concept of the worlds of Zodiac… Read more »


Feb 27
I Finished Two Series! Bite-Sized Reviews of Silver Shadows & The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead and MILA 2.0: Redemption by Debra Driza

I Finished Two Series! Bite-Sized Reviews of Silver Shadows & The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead and MILA 2.0: Redemption by Debra Driza

Reviews 11

Look at me!! I managed to finish not one but two series that I was behind on! This has to be some sort of record for me!! I know the rest of the world read these long ago, but I figure all three of these books deserve at least a bite-sized review. I hope these bite-sized reviews will give you enough of a taste to feed your fiction addiction! I know I truly love this series because it’s been three years since I read The Fiery Heart, and it didn’t take me any time at all to remember what was going on or to reconnect with my favorite characters. That’s honestly saying a lot because lately my brain is a sieve and I’m lucky if I can remember what went on in a previous book in a series for a few months, much less three years! This book picks up with… Read more »


Jan 31
Bite-Sized Reviews of RoseBlood, Frost and The Glittering Court

Bite-Sized Reviews of RoseBlood, Frost and The Glittering Court

Reviews 12

I have quite a few reviews I need to catch up on, so I thought I’d do another installment of bite-sized reviews and knock a few of them out. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! I don’t know why, but I BARELY made it through this book. I just wasn’t engaged and nothing happened. Until the end of the book, literally almost nothing interesting (in my opinion) happened. It was all Thorn creepily watching Rune and Rune worrying about a boy she hurt with her magical opera voice. I nearly DNF’d at 50% but I was curious how it ended up, so I skim-read the second half, only reading carefully when something exciting happened. I did a lot of skim-reading. Lots of my friends enjoyed this book, so maybe it was just me? I simply couldn’t connect to it, though I will say that… Read more »


Nov 25
Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Reviews 8 ★★★★

Lots of reviews being posted today. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby Published by Balzer & Bray on 10/25/16 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Suspense Pages: 288 Source: Edelweiss My content rating: YA (Physical abuse shown, sexual abuse referenced but not described) My rating: The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance. When Nico Walker’s older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah’s daily cruelties. Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found. But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She’s thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden… Read more »


Oct 12
Bite-Sized Reviews: Gemina and Our Chemical Hearts

Bite-Sized Reviews: Gemina and Our Chemical Hearts

Reviews 12 ★★★★★

Once again, there are so many releases this time of year that I’m resorting to bite-sized reviews for some of them. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman Series: The Illuminae Files #2 Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on 10/18/16 Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction Pages: 608 Source: BEA My content rating: YA (Violence, Drug use, Swears are “censored”) My rating: The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Timesbestseller that critics are calling “out-of-this-world awesome.”   Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed. The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault. Hanna is the station captain’s pampered… Read more »


Sep 10
Bite-Sized Audiobook Reviews: On the Jellicoe Road, Forgotten, Spin, Zac and Mia

Bite-Sized Audiobook Reviews: On the Jellicoe Road, Forgotten, Spin, Zac and Mia

Reviews 11 ★★★★★

A few quick reviews of audiobooks I’ve been listening to this summer. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta Published by Bolinda Audio (originally by Penguin Australia) in 5/2010 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Magical Realism Pages: 290  Audio Length: 8 hours and 53 minutes Source: SYNC My content rating: YA (Characters have sex, Death & dying described) My rating: I’m dreaming of the boy in the tree. I tell him stories. About the Jellicoe School and the Townies and the Cadets from a school in Sydney. I tell him about the war between us for territory. And I tell him about Hannah, who lives in the unfinished house by the river. Hannah, who is too young to be hiding away from the world. Hannah, who found me on the Jellicoe Road six years ago. Taylor is leader of the boarders at the Jellicoe School. She has… Read more »