Top Ten Books You Should Try If You Love The Hunger Games

September 29, 2015 Top Ten Tuesday 21

Top-Ten-Tuesday
Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is:

Top Ten Books You Should Try If You Love The Hunger Games

Fan of dystopians like The Hunger Games? Here’s ten lesser known books you should try!
Dystopians_NEW
  1. The Body Institute by Carol Riggs – This dystopian had a really unique spin on what the world would be like if the government took control over things like weight loss.
  2. The Walled City by Ryan Graudin – The setting for this one was just so amazing – and it’s based on a real place!
  3. Viral Nation by Shaunta Grimes – I loved that the MC of this one has autism. Such a unique perspective!
  4. Removed by S.J. Pajonas – (18+) The Japanese culture that’s woven into this series makes it stand out!
  5. The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen – I didn’t see a lot of buzz about this one, but I really enjoyed it!
  6. Anomaly by Krista McGee – This is a Christian dystopian with strong Christian themes, but if that doesn’t put you off, I would definitely check this series out!
  7. Carrier by Anne Tibbets – (18+) This series addresses sexual slavery and is so powerful!
  8. World of Ash by Shauna Granger – A fantastic post-apocalyptic series that not many people seem to know about.
  9. Switch by Janelle Stalder – (18+) I love the gray area between the good guys and the bad guys in this series.
  10. Unwind by Neal Shusterman – I know most of you have probably heard of this one, but I use every opportunity to plug it. You should ALL read this series. Really.

So, what dystopians do you love? I want to know!

 

Book vector designed by Freepik

21 Responses to “Top Ten Books You Should Try If You Love The Hunger Games”

  1. Rebekah @ Wordsmithing and Worldbuilding

    I loved Unwind and The Walled City (yes, the concept was fascinating!). And here I thought I was heartily sick of dystopian . . . I’m still adding about half of these to my TBR list!! Both Carrier and Removed intrigue me, as they’re not the sort of book I normally read, but the themes/elements really sound interesting.
    Wonderful list 😉

  2. Claudia {Sparrowhawk}

    A government who controls weight loss? I’m intrigued and personally, I wouldn’t mind ha! I need to shed some pounds, but then again, I should be careful with what I wish for right? I’ll need to look into this one 😀 One of my favorite dystopian series this year has been the Sunset Rising series, have you read it!? Oh my word! It’s glorious!

  3. S. J. Pajonas

    I clicked on this post from my feed reader and thought OH WHAT WILL SHE RECOMMEND?! I totally didn’t expect to see my book there. Lol. Thank you! I’ve decided that my next Audible credit I’m going to buy the 3rd book in the Unwind series. I can’t wait to listen to it!

    S. J. Pajonas recently posted: Sunday Update – October 4, 2015
  4. Bregje

    I still really want to read The Walled City. I saw some pictures of the actual place and it seemed like such an interesting place to read about!

  5. Olivia Roach

    I am going to be honest when I say that I did like The Hunger Games but it wasn’t my favourite series ever. I do however, want to try some of these recommendations! I have read Carrier myself which I loved as well as the sequel too. I also have The Walled City on my TBR so I should be reading that one anyway. But I will have to check out some of the other books.

    Olivia Roach recently posted: Fall Time Cozy Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.