Dec 03
Let’s Discuss the Book Blog Discussion Challenge!

Let’s Discuss the Book Blog Discussion Challenge!

Book Blog Discussion Challenge, Challenges, Let's Discuss 31

Hey, everybody! So, 2017 is almost here (yikes!) and Shannon and I thought it might be nice to do a little check-in with everyone before we start the 2017 Book Blog Discussion Challenge. We want to know how it’s going for you guys. Personally, I love the Discussion Challenge—it’s one of my favorite parts of blogging—but there’s always room for improvement, right? (Or maybe not, but if that’s the case, we want to hear that too.) I was planning to do a whole poll thing, but somehow I got stuck and couldn’t get it to work the way I wanted it to, so in the interest of time, I decided to just ask a few basic questions: If you’ve participated in the challenge: Is there anything that you would change about the challenge? Any suggestions for future giveaways or ways to spice up the challenge? Or is everything perfect and… Read more »


Dec 02
November Recap & Best of the Bunch

November Recap & Best of the Bunch

Best of the Bunch, Monthly Recap 25

My Goings On in November: I won NaNoWriMo!!! I got really depressed over certain events toward the beginning of the month (that I won’t rehash now). But I won NaNoWriMo!! I started reading two new manga series, and I’m loving both of them. I probably did some other things, but the real news is … I won NaNoWriMo!! (And my first draft of my book is nearly done.) Most Popular Posts: This month was really weird for traffic. My number one post was A Spoiler-Filled Discussion of Three Dark Crowns, which was posted at the end of September, but it was my most popular post of October AND November. I actually kind of love this because I had so much fun writing this post! I want to see everyone’s thoughts on the book!! (I’m still getting comments on that post too, so it’s fun!) Then I had a weird nonexistent page (/sharebutton.to) that I’ve never… Read more »


Dec 01
December Discussion Challenge Link-Up & Giveaway

December Discussion Challenge Link-Up & Giveaway

Book Blog Discussion Challenge, Challenges, Giveaways (Ended) 0

Welcome to the December monthly link-up for the 2016 Book Blog Discussion Challenge hosted by Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction and Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight! It is almost the end of the year, guys! We’ll soon be setting up sign ups for next year already, can you even believe it? Time flies, my friends. The winner of our October discussion challenge link-up was Cynthia @ Bingeing on Books. She chose The True Story of Hansel and Gretel: A Novel of War and Survival, which neither Shannon nor I have never heard of, but we hope she loves it! If you don’t know what this challenge is all about or haven’t signed up yet (but want to), head on over to the challenge sign-up page to learn more! Even if you’d rather not join, we hope you’ll stop by occasionally to check out the MANY discussion posts that… Read more »


Nov 28
I’m a WINNER!!!

I’m a WINNER!!!

NaNoWriMo 22

  Yes, you heard it right here, folks: I am the champion of the world!!! (Yep, that’s right, the Queen song has been going through my head ever since I hit that little Validate button on the NaNo site.) Okay, so that might be a little bit of an exaggeration, but I am seriously SO excited that I hit my 50,000 word goal today, two days early. AND I have a nearly finished first draft (I might even be able to finish it by the 30th, but if not it will be done very soon after because I am so close). I managed to write at a super steady pace, so that helped me a lot. Take a look at my little graphy thing: See how beautiful and smooth it looks? Um, okay, I’ll stop now. But, seriously, I am downright giddy right now! I did it, I did it, I… Read more »


Nov 27
Sunday Post & Giveaways Galore – 11/27/16

Sunday Post & Giveaways Galore – 11/27/16

Sunday Post 13

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on my blog and share news about what’s coming up in the week ahead. Last week on FYFA (and in my life): The only thing to report this week is that I’m still on track with NaNo. I should finish my 50k in the next couple of days (and then finish the book soon after). We had a nice Thanksgiving—just us (me, my husband, my kids and my mom), but there’s nothing too exciting to report about it. Except … yum! Here’s what you may have missed on the blog last week: Scythe Review: AKA An Ode to Neal Shusterman – Find out why I LOVED this book! Why I’m So Thankful for the Book Blogging Community – Posted as part of #TheThanksUGive Bite-Size… Read more »


Nov 26
November Monthly Wrap-Up Round-Up Link-up

November Monthly Wrap-Up Round-Up Link-up

Monthly Wrap-Up Round-Up 0

It’s time for the November Wrap-Up Round-Up! The October giveaway is being hosted over at Lisa Loves Literature. There are a few more days to enter so make sure you head over there! This is the link-up for our November wrap-up posts. If you don’t already know about the Monthly Wrap-Up Round-Up, read the information below: Every month, at the end of the month, I’ll put up a monthly wrap-up link-up post where everyone can link up their month end posts. There are no specific requirements for what needs to be in your post, as long as you have a book blog and your wrap-up summarizes your month in some way.   Then, one week later, I’ll create a giveaway that encourages people to visit YOUR month end link-ups, giving entries for commenting and/or sharing.   Anyone can participate in the giveaway – you won’t have to actually link up in order… Read more »


Nov 25
Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Bite-Size Reviews: The Stranger Game, What Light, Everyday Magic, The Lying Planet

Reviews 8 ★★★★

Lots of reviews being posted today. Hopefully these bite-sized reviews will be enough to feed your fiction addiction! The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby Published by Balzer & Bray on 10/25/16 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Suspense Pages: 288 Source: Edelweiss My content rating: YA (Physical abuse shown, sexual abuse referenced but not described) My rating: The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance. When Nico Walker’s older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah’s daily cruelties. Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found. But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She’s thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden… Read more »


Nov 23
Why I’m So Thankful for the Book Blogging Community

Why I’m So Thankful for the Book Blogging Community

Let's Discuss 15

I thought I’d participate in The Thanks U Give, which is being hosted by Chasing Faerytales and Stay Bookish. It’s a sort of bookish Thanksgiving celebration, and there are so many bookish things to be thankful for! Make sure you head over to the main post to enter the giveaway, because HarperCollins was generous enough to sponsor! So, here are a list of (some of the) reasons I’m thankful for the Book Blogging Community: You Get Me How often do you find other people who want to talk about books or blogging all the time? Well, probably not all that often in “real” life, but that’s okay. My book blogger friends know what it’s like to be slightly (okay, majorly) addicted to books and they won’t question my decision to stay up until 2:00 to finish one off. You Broaden My Horizons I’ve spent most of my life relatively insulated in… Read more »


Nov 22
Scythe Review: AKA An Ode to Neal Shusterman

Scythe Review: AKA An Ode to Neal Shusterman

Reviews 24 ★★★★★

How has the entire world not recognized Neal Shusterman’s genius? Seriously, I am SO hoping that the Unwind movie comes out (I haven’t seen any news since May!!) and that it does the series justice because people need to talk about his books more. Scythe is one more example of Shusterman’s talent and imagination and his ability to shed light on humanity’s moral triumphs and shortcomings. Once again, he takes a look at a dystopian (utopian?) society—this time a society where humans have defeated death, pain, poverty, and every other earthly malady. The cloud has advanced into what the world terms the “Thunderhead.” It has amassed so much knowledge that it has been able to solve all of the world’s problems. All except one—with the defeat of death, overpopulation is a major issue. Even the Thunderhead can only figure out ways to support so many people. And up till this… Read more »


Nov 20
Sunday Post & Giveaways Galore – 11/20/16

Sunday Post & Giveaways Galore – 11/20/16

Sunday Post 22

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer ~ It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on my blog and share news about what’s coming up in the week ahead. Last week on FYFA (and in my life): I’ve managed to recover somewhat from my election-induced bout of depression and I’m ready to get back to “regular” life (without putting my convictions to the side and going back to ignoring reality—at least I’m going to try hard not to). The only thing really going on this week was that I’ve been working hard on my NaNoWriMo novel and it’s going exceptionally well. You can check out my NaNo posts to learn a bit more about it! Here’s what you may have missed on the blog the last two weeks: The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid – Review & Giveaway… Read more »